The ensemble

photo by Yoshi Toscani

A Homeland of Sounds

On a Tuesday evening in the middle of the Nineties, three young musicians climbed on the open stage of the Jazzhaus Freiburg. Usually, Anglo-American songwriters and the traditions of the British Isles where seen on this stage. But all of a sudden, oriental scales and rhythms waved through the arch cellar and a jolly party began, lighted up by a sweeping Darbuka, a whirling clarinet and a crispy e-bass. The spectators no longer could sit on their chairs and the next morning the trio with the curious name FisFüz was topic talk of the day. FisFüz once in a while returned on this open stage but already at that time it was clear: this young group with the German-Turkish percussionist Murat Coşkun and the clarinetist Annette Maye from Flensburg – initially with changing guest musicians- has a potential, that very soon would transport them to other shores.

live_2019_by Klaus-Henning Hansen

Twenty years had passed since then and these shores, where FisFüz debarked, are likely to produce a crush of colorful flags if pitched on a map.

Nowadays, a global musical vocabulary is self-evident in Central Europe and it is not easy to discern today how FisFüz with its first CD's like Bosphorus Fishing and the originally made SimSim (including sesame!) promoted this genre. Surely, at that time, it was pioneer work, this mixture of cleverly arranged Turkish and Balkan melodies, combined with jazzy improvisation. The Südwestrundfunk already in 1998 rewarded FisFüz with his world music award and soon after this, also the Goethe Institut sent the young artists to Iran and North Africa. After this, the musicians had a short timeout with solo projects and modified centers of life.

live_2019_by Klaus-Henning Hansen

The return of Coşkun and Maye in 2007 had the wonderful name Yakamoz- the Turkish expression for marine phosphorescence. On this lyrical work, they also presented their new musical member Gürkan Balkan- an exceptionally gifted virtuous on the ud and on the guitar. Gürkan Balkan is a bridge builder between East and West, which fits perfectly into the concept of the ensemble.

Hence, the sound colors spread up more widely with bass clarinet, hang and tuned frame drums, with occidental harmonies and a more jazzy groove. Since then, the ensemble FisFüz experienced a lot of different and captivating spheres: For Golden Horn Impressions they shortly enlarged their group to a nonet. On Oriental Touch they deeply submerged- together with the Freiburger Spielleyt- into the ancient music of Spain and with the project Mozart im Morgenland they entered with courage and esprit a seraglio and bedded their experiences in classical music on plushy palace cushions. FisFüz and the so called “serious” music is more than just a flirt: they enveloped four of their own compositions with the texture of a complete symphony orchestra.

 

live 2019_by Klaus-Henning Hansen

The zenith of their tonal colorfulness are maybe their albums Ashuré (2011) and Papillons (2012): both produced into the warm analog sound of the legendary MPS studio in Villingen, one time flavored with the Indian spices of the Schlagwerk guest Ramesh Shotham, one time blazing in Mediterranean manner with the long time friend and clarinetist Gianluigi Trovesi. These are only two of many illustrious team workers of the ensemble like for example Giora Feidman, Michel Godard or the Freiburger Barockorchester. Who had the chance to witness the Papillons sessions in the deeply snowbound Black Forest, these highly concentrated, inspired and also very humorous hours with the Italian jazz giant, became aware of the terrific way FisFüz has covered since its hour of birth.

Twenty years of FisFüz! Well, that has to be celebrated and that's what the three musicians are doing with this anniversary CD Bonsai.

It not only presents two decades of the ensembles musical history but also unites  precious evergreens and more actual compositions in a new vesture: from the mysterious suggestive “Blue Carpet” over the seesaw Sudan groove of “Tokar” to the smooth Spanish song "Ay Linda Amiga", from the lively title song to the saucy Klezmer interludes of "Odessa Bulgar", to the moony and bluesy "Filouesken Geheimis". And of course, the always actual FisFüz evergreen "Bosphorus Winds" mustn't be missed.

live_2019_by Klaus-Henning Hansen

Today, each of the single FisFüz members is a luminary in his field: Murat Coşkun operates as an estimated percussionist, composer and lecturer far beyond borders. With his unique Tamburi Mundi Festival, he gathers the frame drum scene from all over the world.

Anette Maye works in Cologne as a highly demanded virtuous of the New Music and of the improvisation scene. She has raised a fantastic and overall clarinet summit, that overlaps the style genres. And also Gürkan Balkan, who, with his string art, can be found on the Bosporus in classical, folk and Turkish pop music. But when the three of them come together to experience new sound adventures, it is a piece of homeland for all of them. A homeland that is not bound to one spot. It is not only in Freiburg, Cologne or Istanbul. It can also be where the wind blows its song over some Anatolian high plateau or where the moon enlightens the sea. Where Tango and Klezmer unify to a fantasy, where the Flamenco is danced near the campfire or where rococo and Osman Empire converge into each other. It is a home land of sounds, they can inhabit together with their keen audience wherever they are- in the Orient and in the Occident.

(Stefan Franzen)

Das Ensemble FisFüz

photo by Yoshi Toscani

Eine Heimat aus Tönen

An einem Dienstagabend Mitte der Neunziger Jahre kletterten zu vorgerückter Stunde drei junge Musiker auf die Offene Bühne des Jazzhaus Freiburg. Dort regierten sonst eher anglo-amerikanisch geprägte Songwriter und die Traditionen der britischen Inseln. Doch plötzlich wehten orientalische Skalen und Rhythmen durch den Gewölbekeller, und eine ausgelassene Party begann, angeheizt durch mitreißende Darbuka, wirbelnde Klarinette und knackigen E-Bass. Die Folkies hielt es nicht mehr auf den Stühlen, und am nächsten Morgen war das Trio, das den wundersamen Namen FisFüz trug, Tagesgespräch. Einige Male sind FisFüz noch auf die Offene Bühne zurückgekehrt, doch es war schon damals klar: In dieser jungen Gruppe um den deutsch-türkischen Perkussionisten Murat Coşkun

und die Flensburger Klarinettistin Annette Maye - zunächst noch mit wechselnden Gastmusikern - steckte ein Potenzial, dass sie schnell zu anderen Gestaden führen würde.

Zwanzig Jahre sind seitdem vergangen, und tatsächlich ergäben diese Gestade, zu denen es FisFüz getragen hat, ein Gewimmel bunter Fähnchen, steckte man sie alle auf einer Karte ab. Heute, wo in Mitteleuropa ein globalisiertes Musikvokabular selbstverständlich geworden ist, lässt es sich gar nicht mehr so richtig ermessen, welche Lanze FisFüz mit ihren ersten CDs
Bosphorus Fishing und der originell gefertigten Sim Sim (samt Sesamsamen!) für dieses Genre gebrochen haben. Doch damals war sie pionierhaft, diese Mischung aus clever bearbeiteten türkischen und balkanischen Melodien und jazziger Improvisation. Der Südwestrundfunk belohnte das bereits 1998 mit seinem Weltmusikpreis, und rasch schickte auch das Goethe-Institut die jungen Künstler bis in den Iran und nach Nordafrika. Es folgte eine kurze Auszeit mit Soloprojekten und veränderten Lebensmittelpunkten.
Coşkuns und Mayes Rückkehr 2007 trug einen wundervollen Namen:
Yakamoz, das türkische Wort für "Meeresleuchten". Auf dem lyrischen Werk stellten sie auch ihren neuen Mitmusiker Gürkan Balkan vor - ein begnadeter Virtuose sowohl auf der Oud als auch der Gitarre, und damit ein Brückenbauer zwischen Ost und West, wie geschaffen für das Konzept des Ensembles. Die Klangfarben fächerten sich weiter auf, mit Bassklarinette, Hang und gestimmten Rahmentrommeln, mit abendländischen Harmonien und jazzigerem Groove. Seitdem ist das Ensemble FisFüz in verschiedenste spannende Sphären vorgestoßen: Für die Golden Horn Impressions erweiterten sie sich kurzerhand zum Nonett, auf Oriental Touch tauchten sie mit den Freiburger Spielleyt tief ein in die Alte Musik Italiens und Spaniens, und mit ihrem Projekt Mozart im Morgenland betraten sie beherzt und espritvoll ein Serail, betteten auf plüschige Palastkissen ihre Erfahrungen aus der Klassik. FisFüz und die sogenannte "ernste" Musik - mehr als ein Flirt: Das zeigte sich schließlich, als sie vier ihrer Eigenkompositionen mit der Textur eines kompletten Symphonieorchesters einkleideten.  

Den Zenit ihrer klanglichen Farbenpracht bilden vielleicht die Alben
Ashuré (2011) und Papillons (2012): beide im warmen Analogsound der legendären Villinger MPS-Studios entstanden, einmal gewürzt mit den indischen Zutaten des Schlagwerk-Gastes Ramesh Shotham, einmal mediterran aufblühend mit dem langjährigen Klarinetten-Freund Gianluigi Trovesi - nebenbei: nur zwei vieler illustrer Teamworker des Ensembles, unter denen sich so klangvolle Namen wie Giora Feidman, Michel Godard oder das Freiburger Barockorchester tummeln. Wer die Papillons-Sessions im tiefverschneiten Schwarzwald miterleben durfte, diese hochkonzentrierten, inspirierten und auch humorvollen Stunden mit dem italienischen Jazzgiganten, dem wurde bewusst, welchen grandiosen Weg FisFüz seit ihrer Geburtsstunde zurückgelegt haben.

Zwanzig Jahre FisFüz! Das gilt es zu feiern, und das tun die drei Musiker ausgiebig mit ihrer hier vorliegenden Jubiläums-CD
Bonsai. Die lässt nicht nur simpel die zwei Dekaden Ensemblegeschichte Revue passieren, sondern vereint lange nicht mehr gehörte Perlen und  aktuellere Kompositionen in neuen Gewändern: Vom geheimnisvoll-suggestiven "Blue Carpet" über den schaukelnden Sudan-Groove von "Tokar" bis zum sanften spanischen Lied "Ay Linda Amiga", vom qürtaktigen Titelstück übers schmissige Klezmer-Intermezzo "Odessa Bulgar" zum verträumt-bluesigen "Filouesken Geheimis". Und natürlich darf auch der All Time-FisFüz-Hit "Bosphorus Winds" nicht fehlen.

Heute ist jeder der drei "FisFüzler" für sich eine Koryphäe: Murat Coşkun wirkt als ein über viele Landesgrenzen hinaus geschätzter Perkussionist, Komponist und Dozent, der mit seinem weltweit einzigartigen Tamburi Mundi-Festival alljährlich die globale Rahmentrommelgemeinde zusammenführt. Anette Maye, die von Köln aus als vielgefragte Virtuosin in der Neuen Musik und Impro-Szene unterwegs ist, hat mit "Multiphonics" einen fantastischen, stilübergreifenden Klarinettengipfel ins Leben gerufen. Und schließlich Gürkan Balkan, der mit seiner Saitenkunst am Bosporus in Klassik, Folk und türkischem Pop zu finden ist. Doch wenn sie zusammenkommen, um neue Klangabenteuer zu bestehen, dann ist das für alle drei ein Stück Heimat. Eine Heimat, die nicht an einen Ort gebunden ist. Sie kann nicht nur in Freiburg, Köln oder Istanbul sein. Auch da, wo der Wind über der anatolischen Hochebene sein Lied pfeift, der Mond das Meer erleuchtet. Wo sich Tango und Klezmer zu einem Fantasiegebilde vereinigen, am Lagerfeuer Flamenco getanzt wird oder Rokoko und Osmanisches Reich ineinanderfließen. Es ist eine Heimat aus Tönen, die sie überall zusammen mit ihrem begeisterten Publikum bewohnen können - sowohl im Morgen- wie auch im Abendland.

 

(Stefan Franzen)